Close

Default Life with the Trijicon TR24

I've been running the Trijicon Accupoint 1-4x for about 2 years now. When I first bought this scope, I thought... this is just about the perfect 3gun scope. Of course things change. The distances I shoot has changed. My own ability has changed. My rifles have changed. Believe whatever you want, but the TR24r is a 300yd scope. Anything beyond 300 is a compromise in some way. Unfortunately, this year nearly every match I've shot has stretched me to 400 and beyond. The search began for a new scope and what I've learned over time is that the perfect 3gun scope simply doesn't exist. The Z6i looks promising, but I've never actually seen one and won't drop the coin until I see it in person. The short dot is closest to perfect, but even the mighty short dot has its little quirks. We'll see what the new 1-8x SB SD looks like, but on paper it sounds like it will be a winner. Even so, it won't be perfect because it will be perfectly unaffordable for most 3gunners. Some new releases have piqued my interest. The new Vortex PST is a solid performer for a budget minded price, but not day light bright. The new SWFA 1-4x HD is way overpriced and a major disappointment, for me at least. The new Meopta ZD is on the way, but right now they are as rare as my wife in thigh high stockings (I'm just gonna have to start appriciating flannel I guess). I've just not found anything out there I can afford, which has convinced me that it will put points on the board. Maybe I'll come across a used Short Dot for a poor man's price, but untill then I'm left with the challenge of learning how to use the inherent advantages of the triangle reticle, to thier greatest potential, while learning to work around the limitations. I grumbled to Hoser about it and in his usual pragmatic way, he told me to quite complaining and get my butt to the range and practice. Not being one to shirk off such heart felt and spiritually uplifting advice I set off to the range for